Manicure Mania!

Bleh!

Posted by manicuremania on December 3, 2009

It is crazy and ridiculous even to me, that I can stand in front of my ~200 polish collection and think “I have nothing to wear!” but it’s true. I’m bored with everything I have. I haven’t even worn most of them still but…yeah, I have nothing to wear.

I’ve got my Zoya free green polishes coming in…tomorrow, I think? so maybe that’ll give me something exciting to use for a few days. And I *still* need to hunt around for the Wizard of Oz collection…it seemed to be selling out when I looked last week though, I wonder if I’ll have problems finding it. And I’ve been wanting to make an order at Dollar Nail Art, because OMG, what a concept! AND, I’ve been thinking about Nfu.Ohs also lately…hmmm…I wonder where one can buy them, I don’t really think I’ve ever heard. Oh, and I need to make a new Diamond order…sigh. The fun part is the shopping, I think!!!!

Just now I finally broke down and applied a polish I’ve already previously featured on this blog, China Glaze 2Nite.

Does everyone have this problem of streakiness and seperation with holos? I only have two holos, but MAN they are horrible to apply. This is one coat, and I think it will take three to finish.

It is…lumpy! It’s almost like oily…stuff…is seperating from the polish on my nail, and God forbid that I try to go back over a wet nail with the brush to fix a smudge or lump – then it even rubs off the dry bottom layer!  It is so weird and terrible, this seems like the type of polish that should glide on extremely thinly, but it is NOT. Is this just a trait of holos, or what?

7 Responses to “Bleh!”

  1. Maestra said

    Nope, I don’t have any problems with my holos. From China Glaze I have only one from OMG collection. Maybe you should try with another base coat or something. And maybe you should try and do thicker coats. I don’t know. Experiment. 😉
    My stash is a lot bigger than 200 polishes, so I can’t really say, that I have nothing to wear, because I have some real beauties that make me happy. 😀 But sometimes I just don’t know what to wear, because I have so much… But that’s another problem. 😉

    • manicuremania said

      I kinda do think it might be my basecoat, yeah. I seem to have this trouble occasionally, it just seems magnified with this polish!
      It is so hard to choose a polish when you have so many!!!!

  2. AJ said

    I believe that the CG OMG collection is notorious for its bad application. I believe scrangie actually did a post about the poor application issues. Amazingly enough, I have the entire collection and I haven’t worn even one yet. I’m gradually working my way through my myriad untrieds, of which those 12 are a part.

    • manicuremania said

      ohhhhhh I will have to look that Scrangie post up then, I’m glad it’s not just me. I was beginning to suspect my beloved Orly Nail Armor base coat (which I kinda do anyway, I think that’s part of the problem too). Wow I can’t believe you haven’t tried the OMG collection yet, they all look GORGEOUS!!

  3. Jen said

    I have trouble too. I have 3 holos and 2 are troublesome. One is Nubar Reclaim which was expensive and shouldn’t behave so badly IMO. It kinda thickens, then doesn’t cover properly and leaves bald spots. Just like you and your problems. Same (maybe even worse) with a GOSH silver. The only one that applies OK is the cheapest – Diamond Cosmetics Chainmail Charm. I think lots of people report holo horrors.

    • manicuremania said

      Yes, that’s exactly the trouble I have!! And, heh – Chainmail Charm is my second holo and it applies perfectly. I don’t understand it!

  4. Lucy said

    They are kind of tricky to apply. The first coat goes on with bald spots. The second usually goes on better. I also sometimes just add polish on the bald spots and let it dry. Then I apply the next coat. Like everyone else said just to experiment. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

 
