Manicure Mania!

Orly – Blue Suede

Posted by manicuremania on October 27, 2009

Oh wow. Wow.

orl blue suede

This is TERRIBLE.

I hate this polish so much. The general opinion on this Orly collection (and Blue Suede in particular) seems to be pretty bad, but I just thought the pictures I’ve seen were so pretty anyway that I had to have it, and it’s been on my wishlist for a while now. It looked like such a pretty, dusty blue, and it is I guess. But…this finish is AWFUL. It’s like I painted my nails with acrylic paint or something.

Big smudge on my ring finger cause I splashed my polish remover and didn’t care enough about this manicure to fix it.

orl blue suede 2

orl blue suede 3

Even Seche can’t save it, it darkens it up several shades and now it’s very close to one of those “might as well be black” polishes that I despise.

orl blue suede 4

orl blue suede 5

After a day of wear I tried to fix it up a bit by adding a coat of Sinful Colors Hottie. It’s much better now. Lucky, because I have no time for a real manicure right now!

It was very gritty, I had to use two coats of Seche on top of Hottie, which will effectively glue the glitter to my nails for the rest of my life.

orl blue suede 10

orl blue suede 6

orl blue suede 7

orl blue suede 8

orl blue suede 9I like how Hottie contains more than one size/color of glitter, because that creates much more depth than throwing a normal glitter topcoat on top of polish. It looks like it’s sitting on top of the polish, whereas a glitter topcoat like Hottie is much more interesting. However. There’s not a ton of tonal color to it, is there? I thought this would be a good topcoat for blue polish since it looks so blue in the bottle, much like Call You Later is for greens, but it’s just not really all that blue. Drag! Still pretty though.

One Response to “Orly – Blue Suede”

  1. […] Fairy Dust. Eh. As with most glitter topcoats that I’ve tried that aren’t by Sinful Colors, the glitter sits flat on top of the colored polish and looks […]

Leave a Reply

 
