Manicure Mania!

Ombre Manicure

Posted by manicuremania on October 3, 2009

Today I finally have some time to do some nail art! First I did an ombre manicure – I’ve been wanting to try this for forever!

I love grey polish so I thought a grey ombre manicure would be awesome, and…I think it kinda is!! I think the gradation is a little more subtle than if I had used a bright color. Also, I purposely tried to make the change from nail to nail more subtle than on other ombre manicures I’ve seen. I like it better that way. But I think I could have even gone a little less subtle on this and still have been happy with it.

I just used plain old Wet n Wild Black and white polishes for this.

ombre 1

ombre 2

ombre

My goodness, I’m surprised by how much I like this! I’m usually very careful about not wearing anything too out-there on my nails – I am not at ALL a fashion risk taker – but I would (and will) soooo wear this.

As always, things I will do better next time:

I think it would make more sense to start with a color I want to use for the middle nail, instead of starting with the darkest color. It seems like it would be easier to make the tone changes more even that way. Or, start with the lightest color instead of the darkest – I started with black and worked my way to the light grey pinky and I was having to add a LOT of white. A lot. I ended up with sooooo much useless polish at the end and it felt wasteful. Note to self – don’t start with enough polish to paint all the nails because I will be adding polish as I go along!!

One Response to “Ombre Manicure”

  1. Lucy said

    Love this grey ombre. Very pretty! I think I would just look for some polishes I have to do this. I’m afraid if I tried this I would really screw it up.

Leave a Reply

 
