Manicure Mania!

Barielle – Get Mauve-ing

Posted by manicuremania on September 22, 2009

bar get mauve-ing

First of all, this is in no way a mauve. Second of all, it is in no way a good color.

It’s a medium dirty reddish purple creme. If you don’t look too closely, it just looks brown. I don’t really like it very much.

I normally looooove mauves, I have a zillion mauve-y polishes, and every lipstick I’ve ever bought has probably had the word “mauve” in the name because I’m a makeup wuss and most mauves match my natural lipcolor perfectly so you can’t tell I’m wearing it! But I would NOT call this mauve at all. This is what I think of when I think mauve:

mauve

It’s completely possible that Cover Girl has misled me about what mauve actually is I guess. 🙂 And I know those colors are pretty close to my bottle picture above, but it’s just not the same color on the nail as it is in the bottle. It’s sort of a raisiny color on my nails.

I feel kinda weird bashing a polish that was created by another blogger, but this was extremely streaky. Not too unusual for a creme, really, but it was streaky to an unusual degree. Also, I think I’ve mentioned before that some of my Barielle’s are wonderfully thin and really easy to apply…and then there’s the ones like this. Thick, thick, thiiiiick. It’s probably personal preference, but in general I don’t enjoy thick polishes.

Not at all close:

Barielle website swatch

website swatch

bar get mauve-ing 2

bar get mauve-ing 3

4 Responses to “Barielle – Get Mauve-ing”

  1. Lucy said

    I think this is a lovely color on you. It looks like a deep mauve to me. I have a lipstick that looks like this. Matches pretty good. I guess mine will be a bit thick also.

    • manicuremania said

      maybe not, I’d be interested to know if it is! I don’t remember anyone else complaining about thickness with these polishes though.

  2. Aaren said

    I know I’m late, but this color looks entirely different on me. It looks like a dusty lilac on my skin tone (I’m black), and nothing at all how it looks on you. I’ve never figured out what mauve means exactly, but it’s always curious to see the same color can look so totally different on different people. I still think it’s very pretty on you though!

    • manicuremania said

      That’s so weird!!! I kinda wish it looks lilac on me! I’ve never understood either how colors can look so completely different on different people. Was yours crazy thick, also?

Leave a Reply

 
