Manicure Mania!

Diamond Cosmetics Mattes!

Posted by manicuremania on September 20, 2009

Today I will do something that I never really planned on ever doing: swatching a collection just to blog it. But, I happen to have them all, and I haven’t seen anyone else post about them yet, sooooooo…here are the new Diamond Cosmetics mattes!

I also included a picture of each polish with a glossy topcoat and with Essie Matte About You topcoat. I did a rotten job of applying all of these because I was rushing – also my nails and cuticles now hate me. I’m off to moisturize!

Matte Black:

Pretty good coverage considering this is a black, but I probably should’ve gone for the third coat now that I look over my pictures. Also, enormous smudge!

dia matteblack 335

website swatch

dia matte black

dia matte black 2

dia matte black 3

Matte Burgundy:

This was so streaky! It’s a lovely color but I had to use four coats before I just completely gave up on trying to reach opacity and evenness, and now it just sort of looks dull and dark.

website swatch

website swatch

dia matte burgundy

dia matte burgundy 2

dia matte burgundy 3

Matte Mulberry:

Now this one I like! It’s a pretty purply color. Not streaky like the Burgundy was.

Noooooooot an accurate swatch from the Diamond website at all:

website swatch

website swatch

dia matte mulberry

dia matte mulberry 2

dia matte mulberry 3

Matte Smoke:

This one’s probably my favorite. I really enjoy grey polishes, and this is a nice shade. The matte finish looks nice in this color also.

The Diamond swatch isn’t anywhere close to true color on this one either.

website swatch

website swatch

dia matte smoke

dia matte smoke 2

dia matte smoke 3

I’m not real impressed by these. They’re just not very matte. Although these definitely ARE matte polishes, it’s sort of more of a satiny finish. I hope the photos demonstrate that they really just don’t have that complete absence of any shininess, which is what the Essie topcoat has. They weren’t very easy to work with either, verrrry thick, and they didn’t dry as quickly as other mattes I’ve tried. They were all very pretty with the addition of a glossy topcoat though! Worth buying for $2, I think. And yes,  even the mattes are only $2, from http://www.diamondcosmetics.com/!

2 Responses to “Diamond Cosmetics Mattes!”

  1. Lucy said

    These are really pretty shades. I won’t be buying them. I have Matte About You so I will just paint it on whatever I want.

    • manicuremania said

      Yeah, I much prefer my Matte About You also, so that I can just make whatever I want matte, plus it’s a much better matte anyway.

Leave a Reply

 
