Manicure Mania!

Tiger Stripes

Posted by manicuremania on September 16, 2009

When I was in high school, I used to use fine paintbrushes to paint flowers and stuff on my nails, but I really haven’t done any nail art since then. Today I decided to try tiger stripes!

I painted my nails with China Glaze’s Secret Peri-Wink-Le, added a coat of Seche and let it dry. Then I collected my polish palette and my brushes, and I looked through my stash of black polish. My “stash” consists of a Wet n’ Wild black, O.P.I. Black Onyx, and Konad Special Polish in Black. I tried the O.P.I. first, but it really needs two coats for opacity, so I went with the Konad polish in the end. I used a thicker brush than I normally would because I wanted the stripes to be thicker.

tiger art

Anyway, I used a fine art brush to make squiggly lines in random patterns, starting from the edge of my nails.

tiger art 3

tiger art 2I added forks randomly, and really just tried to keep the lines wiggly, and to not repeat the same pattern on two nails.

Using the Konad polish was totally a mistake. It dried to the touch, but when I added topcoat it smeared like craaaaaazy. So I’m still on the lookout for an opaque black polish for stuff like this.

tiger art 4

tiger art 5

tiger art 6

tiger art 7

tiger art 8

tiger art 9

4 Responses to “Tiger Stripes”

  1. kitty said

    Wow this looks Great! I can’t even do polka-dots free hand!

  2. Lucy said

    What a gorgeous job you’ve done! I’m really impressed that you free handed this design. I like the shade of polish you used. Your nails are gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

 
