Manicure Mania!

Healthy Nails Pack Review 1

Posted by manicuremania on September 14, 2009

I have such thin, peely, weak, prone-to-breakage nails! I have really been working hard lately to grow them out and I think I’ve just about hit my length limit – I just don’t think I can expect my retardo nails to get any longer than they currently are, so now I’m just working on maintaining and growing them all out to the same length. I am happy to say that with the extreme care I’ve been taking with them, most of the peeling has grown out and I haven’t had any breaks in a while!

But of course I’m always looking for products that will make my nail life easier, so I have decided to exclusively use my Healthy Nails Pack for the next while.

So, here it is:

bar healthy nails

These came free with an order over $85 (BEFORE DISCOUNTS!) from barielle.com. I’m not entirely sure how these will work out unless I leave my nails bare of polish, which of course I simply cannot do, so I’m going to have to get creative with the instructions.

First, bare nails. I’ll post pictures weekly and update on how I feel my nails are improving. I’m also going to attempt to go without (colored) polish a couple of times a week.

2009-9-14 right 2

2009-9-14 left 2Well…the peeling IS mostly gone, but there is some yellowing, more than I’d thought. My cuticles look pretty healthy though. There are a few tiny spots that are remnants of my Orly strengthener stuff.

So I can see the benefit of using each product seperately for a month each and waiting to see if there’s any noticeable improvement, but I just don’t have that kind of time or patience! So I’m jumping right in – new products to replace basecoat and topcoat, plus cuticle oil and some sort of nail cream. Aaaaaaaand, GO!

Nail Rebuilding Protein will replace my basecoat. I’m totally skipping the “use 2-3 times per week for 3 weeks without additional laquers to allow nails to breathe” part. The bottle says it can be used as a basecoat…I sure hope it doesn’t cause more staining from polish.

bar rebuilding

bar rebuilding 2

Clearly Noticeable Nail Thickener will be my new topcoat. I will probably also add Seche on top of that, depending on how tough it is. From the wording in the instructions I get the impression this is just a strengthening topcoat.

bar thickener

bar thickener 2

Intensive Nail Renewal Oil. Eh. I’m not that cool with this, because I don’t see how softening my cuticles with oily gross oil will be any better than the pure awesomeness that is CND Cuticle Eraser. It smells like Fruit Stripes gum and the brush is TERRIBLE – all bent and uneven and hard.

bar intense

bar intense 2

Nail Strengthener Cream. I have some issues with this one. First, how is this that much different from the cuticle oil? Second, “originally created to condition the hooves of million-dollar thoroughbred racehorses.” And third, “may be used over nail polish.” Um…I don’t think nail polish is permeable. If I put lotion of some sort on top of nail polish…it’s not gonna sink down into my nails. So basically, this is just another cuticle cream…right?

bar strength cream

bar strength cream 2

2 Responses to “Healthy Nails Pack Review 1”

  1. Lucy said

    I will be interested in these products. Hope they do well with your nails. Your nails look very nice. I use a base coat actually 2 coats. I still get yellow nails.

    • manicuremania said

      sadly, these products were a bust for me! I really tried to give them a chance but I just can’t do it anymore. Sad! I don’t understand why our nails are yellowing when we’re being so careful to use basecoats! I’ve got to find a solution to this problem.

Leave a Reply

 
